Scheme of Civil Services Examination

The Civil Services Examination consists of two successive stages -
I. Civil Services Preliminary Examination (Objective type) for the selection of candidates for the Main Examination; and
II. Civil Services Main Examination (Written and Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various Services and post.
The Preliminary Examination consists of two papers of Objective type (multiple choice questions) each of 200 marks and carries a total of 400 marks. The question papers are set both in Hindi and English. Each paper is of two hours duration. Blind candidates are allowed extra time of twenty minutes for each paper.

Scheme of Preliminary Examination

This examination is meant to serve as a screening test only; the marks obtained in the Preliminary Examination by the candidates who are declared qualified for admission to the Main Examination will not be counted for determining their final order of merit. The number of candidates to be admitted to the Main Examination will be about twelve to thirteen times the total approximate number of vacancies to be filled in the year in the various Services and Posts. Only those candidates who are declared by the Commission to have qualified in the Preliminary Examination in the year are eligible for writing the Main Examination of that year.

UPSC Preliminary Examination Syllabus 2014
UPSC Civil Services Main Examination Revised Syllabus Pattern 2014
Summary of the Latest Pattern of Civil Services (Mains) Examination
Civil Services Mains Exam 2014 Syllabus

For more details please visit http://www.upsc.gov.in/